Research Databases
-
Art Index
Includes many types of art and design publications: periodicals, yearbooks, competition and award notices, interviews, and more. Index only but use "Get this Item" button to see if full text is available from another publisher.
Coverage Dates: 1984 - present -
Academic Search Premier
Articles in magazines, newspapers and academic journals.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
Websites
AIGA Design Archives Selections from AIGA's annual competitins
CAP Online Free online magazine
Design & Publishing Center includes the DT&G e-zine
GoodLogo!com Dedicated to the art of the logo
Portfolios.com Image portfolios and work profiles of graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, and more.
Renourish Provides access to resources to hep designers practice sustainabiltiy
Society for Environmental Graphic Design
You the Designer A blog
Typography
I love typography Online magaze with articles like "Who Shot the Serif?" and "Typoholism," font resources, font game, and more.
Type Index.ORG Searchable database of of fonts
Professional Associations
YOU THE DESIGNER: a blog feed
**Links open in a new window**
Book Catalogs
Summit (Orbis Cascades) Catalog Search catalogs of other libraries and have books not at OSU sent here in 3-4 days.
Graphic Design books are located on the 5th and 6th floors. Call numbers:
- NC 997-1003 Commercial Art, Graphic Design (5th floor)
- Z 116-259 Typography (6th floor)
Suggest a book for the library to purchase
Borrowing from other libraries
Books:
First see if a book is available through Summit. If it's not, request it through WorldCat.
Articles in journals:
Request through InterLibrary Loan. Articles are delivered electronically, so the turnaround time is often 24 hours or less but may take up to 5 working days.
Find Images You Have Permission to Use
Flickr - Advanced Search Screen
Images that have been licensed by their creators with a Creative Commons license - telling you how you can legally and ethically use their photos. Show me
Labeling and citing images
Even when the images you use are copyright free, you should acknowledge the creator and indicate the source.
- For examples of using MLA style to fully cite images you use in a research paper, click here: citing images
Please be aware of legal restrictions on the use of images. Boston University has a useful webpage on Image Copyright .
Printing Posters
Student Media Services (Main Floor, Valley Library): production and printing services funded by student activity fees.
Typography Friday

Eric Shoemaker, "Typography Friday: a weekly project." Flickr Creative Commons
Last Update: 08 Sep 14:33 | Tagged with: art art history graphic design contemporary art design fine arts
