Physics

eJournals

If you would like to browse physics related e-journals, these links will take you to lists of journals related to the broad subjects listed below.  For a more comprehensive search on a narrower topic, be sure to use the databases or arXiv first.

PLEASE NOTE the date range available for each journal.  If the article you need is not available through OSU Libraries, use our Interlibrary Loan/Scan & Deliver Services (see below).

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is a free service that allows you to get journal articles that are not at OSU Libraries. To use this service, log in with your ONID username and password and fill out a request form.

You will receive an email when your article has arrived. Please allow at least one week for your article(s) to arrive.

 

Useful Websites

Fermilab Technical Publications

Mathematical Physics Archive (mp_arc)

Electronic archive for research in Mathematical Physics and related areas.

Scirus (Advanced search option recommended)

Scirus searches over 415 million science-specific web pages for scientific, scholarly, technical and medical data. It covers the latest technical reports, peer-reviewed articles, patents, pre prints and journals. Links in the search results will often lead to OSU Libraries' subscriptions to full-text articles.

Get Started with 1Search!

You do allow embedded content.

1Search, our new search engine, is a great way to get started on your research.  It lets you search most of our full-text online journal content plus the library catalog...all in one search. Learn more about 1Search.

If you want to use subject-specific databases or journals, see the other modules on this page.

Top Databases for Physics

Databases are used to locate journal citaitons from thousands of journals. Many articles will be available online if we subscribe to the journal.

In addition the databases below, use arXiv to access (mainly) pre-publication versions of articles in all fields of physics and related sciences. 

  • Science Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) locked database
    Index of cited articles from over 5000 scientific journals in all areas of science. Search by cited author, original author, title keywords or journal name.
    1970-present
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
  • Compendex (Engineering Index) locked database
    Engineering Index (Compendex) covers all areas of engineering including: acoustical; aerospace; automotive; biological; chemical; civil; computer; electrical; electronic; energy;environmental; geologic; mechanical; metallurgical; mining; and robotics.
    1970-present
    Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
  • SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) open database
    Provides electronic searching of Chemical Abstracts (CA) and the CAS Registry file. CA is the world\'s largest and most up-to-date collection of chemical information, with more than 20 million abstracts of journal articles, patents, and more. CAS Registry contains more than 24,000,000 substance records, including more than 16,000,000 organic and inorganic substances and 4,000,000 biosequences. The Registry is the world\'s largest collection of organic substance records.
    1907-present
    Coverage Dates: 1907 - present
Last Update: 27 Jun 13:26 | Tagged with: physics phy