Summit Dissertations Widget
How do I...find dissertations?
- Go to Summit's Advanced Search
- Enter your search term (you can also select a search field in the drop down menu)
- Under the limiter “Content”, select “Thesis/Dissertation”
- Submit your search
- Or try the search box below...
Theses & Dissertations via Summit:
Widget provided by George Fox University.
Where is Dissertation Abstracts?
Dissertation Abstracts (a ProQuest database) is no longer available at Oregon State University. For many years OSU Libraries were able to provide access to this database through a provider that charged a set price on a per search basis. That access is no longer being offered. Subscribing to Dissertation Abstracts through ProQuest is not possible due to the increased price. However, we have developed this guide in order to direct the OSU community to other useful resources for finding theses and dissertations.
Please contact your subject librarian if you have questions about finding dissertations and theses in your field.
OSU Theses and Dissertations
Search for OSU theses and dissertations in ScholarsArchive@OSU. Note: Collection is incomplete since not all older theses have been digitized.†
Electronic Theses and Disserations
All OSU theses and dissertations are in the library catalog. This includes many older theses that may not be available online.
- OSU Libraries Catalog
- OSU theses are housed in the library under the general call number LD4330 and then grouped by year and then by author last name.
- Add the term "theses" to any keyword search in the OSU library catalog you will get theses and dissertations on that subject (or by that author) -- but only those from OSU
- To find a list of theses and dissertations by a particular department you can search the catalog for the SUBJECT HEADING “Theses OSU [program name]” for example “Theses OSU History” or “Theses OSU History of Science.”
†If you discover an OSU thesis or dissertation that you would like digitized and placed in ScholarsArchive@OSU contact Patti Black (patricia.black@oregonstate.edu)
Other sources of theses & dissertations
Some subject databases index theses and dissertations. Check the database list to see if they are covered or ask your subject librarian for help selecting the best option.
A few other options:
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations. Two search options are offered:
Foreign dissertations from CRL
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has cataloged over 800,000 dissertations from countries outside the US and Canada. (note OSU faculty and students can request materials from the CRL through Interlibrary Loan).
PQDT Open
Searches open access theses and dissertations from the ProQuest database. It is a small subset of Dissertation Abstracts (includes full text).

