ICPSR Data Archive
An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
ICPSR's educational activities include the Summer Program in Quantitative Methods of Social Research
, a comprehensive curriculum of intensive courses in research design, statistics, data analysis, and social methodology. ICPSR also leads several initiatives that encourage use of data in teaching, particularly for undergraduate instruction.
As a member of ICPSR, OSU students, faculty, and staff have access to the ICPSR data archive, and to educational activities, classroom-ready data, and web based instruction. OSU researchers also have the opportunity of depositing their own data to take advantage of long-term preservation and worldwide dissemination.
ICPSR Workshop Recording - Watch Valery King, OSU Libraries' Social Sciences and Government Information Librarian, discuss how to use the ICPSR (Inter-University
Consortium for Political and Social Research) database to increase your skills at searching, downloading and analyzing ICPSR data.(31 min.)
-
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research
Coverage Dates: - present
Economic Data
Here are websites of major importance for economic data:
- Bureau of Labor Statistics http://stats.bls.gov
- Census Bureau http://www.census.gov
- Department of Labor http://dol.gov
- Department of Housing and Urban Development http://hud.gov
- Federal Reserve System http://www.federalreserve.gov/econresdata/default.htm
- World Bank http://www.worldbank.org/
- International Monetary Fund http://www.imf.org/external/data.htm
Many online statistical resources for Economics are listed on the American Economic Association's webpage Resources for Economics on the Internet at http://www.aeaweb.org/RFE/.
State Data Sites
Access to public data collected and stored on the websites of various state governments. Includes information from all branches of the government, in administration, business, education, health & human services, natural resources, public safety, recreation, revenue & expenses, and transportation.
US State Data Sites
Alabama - http://open.alabama.gov/
Arizona - http://openbooks.az.gov/app/transparency/index.html
California - http://data.ca.gov/
Colorado - http://www.colorado.gov/data/
District of Columbia - http://data.octo.dc.gov/
Florida - http://www.floridahasarighttoknow.com/
Georgia - http://www.open.georgia.gov/
Indiana - http://inmap.indiana.edu/viewer.htm
Kansas - http://www.kansas.gov/KanView/
Kentucky - http://opendoor.ky.gov/search/Pages/spendingsearch.aspx
Louisiana - http://wwwprd.doa.louisiana.gov/LaTrac/portal.cfm
Maine - http://www.maine.gov/data/
Massachusetts - http://www.mass.gov/data/
Michigan - http://www.michigan.gov/data/
Minnesota - http://www.mn.gov/data/
Missouri - http://www.mo.gov/data/
Nebraska - http://www.nebraska.gov/data/
New York - http://www.nysenate.gov/opendata/
North Carolina - http://www.ncopenbook.gov/
North Dakota - http://www.nd.gov/gis/
Ohio -
Oklahoma - http://www.ok.gov/about/data.html
Oregon - http://data.oregon.gov/
Rhode Island - http://www.ri.gov/data/
Tennessee - http://www.tn.gov/opengov/
Texas - http://www.texas.gov/en/Connect/Pages/open-data.aspx
Utah - http://www.utah.gov/data/
Virginia - http://datapoint.apa.virginia.gov/
Washington - http://data.wa.gov/
Statistics Databases
Data.Gov A government statistical Web site that makes available machine-readable data sets generated by the executive branch of the federal government.
Data for Local Communities (Oregon and Washington) A service of the Orbis Cascade Alliance. Statistical, spatial, and descriptive information about the cities, counties and other civil, economic and natural regions of Oregon and Washington. The LocalData database lets you retrieve web-based information by topic and geography, while Additional Resources provides links to geospatial data and other organizational websites.
GSS: General Social Survey. http://www.norc.org/GSS+Website/
From the National Opinion Research Center (NORC), funded by the National Science Foundation. A standard "core" of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions. Many questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies. A unique and valuable resource, GSS has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades. (Some facility with data files is recommended, although pre-generated tables are available.GSS can also be found and used at the ICPSR data site.)
-
Statistical Abstract
A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. NOTE: The U.S. Census Bureau is terminating the collection of data for the Statistical Abstract of the United States, the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book. OSU is seeking commercial products to in some way replace the data services that SA provided.
Coverage Dates: - 2006 -
Historical Statistics of the United States
Fourth edition. The U.S. Bureau of the Census published the prior editions in 1949, 1960, and 1975, the last known as the Bicentennial Edition. Cambridge University Press publishes this, the Millennial Edition, with the permission of the Census Bureau.
Coverage Dates: 1610 - 2000 -
Social Trends and Indicators USA
The online reference book provides in-depth statistics on social issues paired with expert analyses. Statistical data is gathered from respected sources including the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of the Census, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and the Social Security Administration; data is also gathered from The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and the stock exchanges.
Coverage Dates: 2003 - present -
E-STAT
Canadian statistics. Using approximately 2,700 tables from CANSIM, you can track trends in virtually every aspect of the lives of Canadians. CANSIM contains more than 36 million time series. The data of the Censuses of population and agriculture can be displayed in the form of tables, graphs and maps for several geographic areas. Select Search Censuses from the sidebar. NOTE: This service will be archived on June 30, 2012. No updates will be made after that date.
Coverage Dates: 1665 - present
Statistics Sources
Pew Social & Demographic Trends from the Pew Research Center studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.
In addition to ICPSR and sites listed in the Facts and Figures guide, there are many other resources for pulling statistics.
For Federal and State statistics guidance, see the Statistics tab on the Government Information guide as well as UO's American Policy Directory and Oregon Policy Directory (links on this page)


