Use Google Scholar
Set Google Scholar Preferences to show library links for OSU. ( "Get This Item at OSU")
Searching Google Scholar
Google Scholar Library Links Find an interesting abstract or citation that you wish you could read? In many cases you may have access to the complete document through OSU Libraries -- and Google Scholar can show you when you do. Google works with libraries to determine which journals and papers they've subscribed to electronically, and then links to articles from those sources when they're available. Once you tell us what library you're a member of, we'll keep an eye out for that library's subscription materials and provide special links to them in your search results.
Setting up Google Scholar to include Find It @ OSU library links is easy. Simply go to the Scholar Preferences and enter Oregon State University in the Library Links field. If you are on your home computer, make sure you are logged into your Google account to save your preferences.
Setting Google Scholar Preferences
View this tutorial to change your Google Scholar preferences. This will show which of your results are available from the OSU Libraries.
How Can I Tell if a Journal is Peer Reviewed?
A journal that is peer reviewed is one that has gone through an editorial process where its articles have been evaluated for scholarly, authoritative, current information.
There are several ways to determine if a particular journal is peer reviewed:
1. If you’re searching for articles in certain interfaces (EBSCO, ProQuest, etc.), you can limit your search to peer-reviewed sources simply by selecting a tab or checking a box on the search screen.
2. If you’re looking at the journal itself, look at the editorial statement or instructions to authors (usually in the first few pages of the journal or at the end) for references to the peer-review process.
3. Most scholarly journals have a website and will clearly state if it is peer reviewed. Go directly to the journal's webpage (do a Google search to find it or try a search via JournalSeek) and search through its homepage, manuscript submission page or 'about' page. Information about peer review will likely be found within one of these sections.
Find Scholarly Journal Articles
If the full-text of the article does not appear in the database, click the 360 Link to Full Text buttonto determine if OSU has a paper copy or an electronic copy of the journal. If we don't, request the article from InterLibrary Loan (Free!).
Academic Search Premier
Provides scholarly, magazine and newspaper articles from many academic disciplines. Click Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals to limit your search. If the full-text doesn't appear, click the 360 Link to Full Text button to see if OSU has the full text.
Coverage Dates: 1975 - present
Searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through OSU's journal subscriptions.
Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown
An interdisciplinary collection of full-text, high quality, peer reviewed journals. Type transgender* to find the words transgender or transgendered. Type "feminist leader" so the terms appear as a phrase. Use the limit to articles.
Coverage Dates: - Varies by journal
Index to sociological and Women's Studies scholarly literature. Type transgender* to find the words transgender or transgendered. Search concepts separately, lesbian in one row, health in the next, etc. Click the 360 Link to Full Text button to see if OSU has the full text.
Coverage Dates: 1963 - present
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
Provides access to current and retrospective citations in over 1,700 scholarly social sciences journals. Can do a cited reference search and map scholarly literature connections.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Women's Studies International
Indexes the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Type transgender* to find the words transgender or transgendered. Type "same-sex marriage" so the terms appear as a phrase. Click Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals to limit your search. If the full-text doesn't appear, click the 360 Link to Full Text button to see if OSU has the full text.
Coverage Dates: 1972 - present
Women Studies E-Journals
Here are a few highly cited journals to which OSU Libraries subscribe that cover a wide variety of issues in Women Studies. Also listed is the database that indexes the journal. Usually searching the database is the easiest way to find articles.
Sex Roles, SpringerLink Contemporary (from 01/01/1997 - Present)
Psychology of Women Quarterly, Academic Search Premier (from 09/01/1976 - 1 year ago). Use Interlibrary loan to get current articles.
Gender and Society, SAGE Complete A-Z List (from 03/01/1999 - present)
Women & Health, InformaWorld (from 1997 - present)
Journal of Women's Health, Academic Search Premier (from 10/01/2002 - 3 months ago)
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society, University of Chicago Press Journals (from Spring 2002 - present)
Women's Health Issues, Science Direct Journals (from 01/01/1995 - present)
Gender, Place and Culture, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1994 - 1 year ago)
Women's Studies International Forum, Science Direct Journals (from 2006 - 2009)
Gender, Work and Organization, Academic Search Premier (from 01/01/1998 - 1 year ago)
Feminst Studies, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1990 - present)
Feminist Economics, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1997 - present)
Women and Therapy, Informaworld (from 1997 - present)
Social Politics, Project MUSE (from Spring 2003 - present)
Hypatia, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1986 - 1 year ago)
Journal of Gender Studies, Academic Search Premier (from 11/01/1993 - 1 year ago)
Intersections: Gender and Sexuality in Asia and the Pacific, The Australian National University (September 1998 - present)