UNIFEM Progress of the World’s Women 2008-2009:
United Nations Development Fund for Women -- From the site: “Progress 2008/2009 focuses on five key areas where the need to strengthen accountability to women is urgent: politics and governance, access to public services, economic opportunities, justice, and finally the distribution of international assistance for development and security.”
United Nations Global Issues: Women:
Includes links to International Women’s issues.
World Bank – Gender and Development:
Gender equality is a core element of the World Bank in an effort to reduce poverty. Links include information to data on gender, regional and thematic gender web sites, news and events, resources for mainstreaming gender and reports and publications.
MINCAVA Electronic Clearinghouse
Comprehensive website to electronic resources regarding violence and abuse.
Violence Against Women Online Resources
This website is a cooperative project of the Office on Violence Against Women and the Minnesota Center Against Violence & Abuse at the University of Minnesota, supported by a grant awarded by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Dept. of Justice. Topics covered include domestic violence, human trafficking, sexual violence, stalking, teen dating violence. Provides access to free, full-text reports.
Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Culture
Free online encyclopedia devoted to gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer education and culture.
American Civil Liberties Union – LGBT Rights
This is the website for the ACLU’s LGBT Project. From the site: “The LGBT Project fights discrimination and moves public opinion through the courts, legislatures and public education across five issue areas: Relationships, Youth & Schools, Parenting, Gender Identity and Expression and Discrimination in Employment, Housing and other areas.” Check out the tabs – cases, news, legal documents, multimedia and more…
“Lambda Legal publishes an assortment of booklets; tool kits; brochures; short material on cases, issues and campaigns and more.“
ACTUP Oral History Project
From the site: “The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.” Great resource for primary sources.
Transgender Archives-University of Victoria
The University of Victoria has committed itself to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of transgender people. The UVic Archives have been actively acquiring documents, rare publications, and memorabilia of persons and organizations associated with transgender activism since 2007.
Harvard’s Open Collection Program – Women Working 1800-1903
From the site: “Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on Women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, and 1,200 photographs.”
Library of Congress American Memory – Women’s History Collection:
The Library of Congress has 7 Women’s history collections inclusive of broadsides and printed ephemera (between 1600-2000); Women’s suffrage (books and pamphlets between 1848-1921), photographs and prints (between 1850-1920)… Great for archives and primary documents.
American Women’s History: A Research Guide:
Provides citations to print and Internet reference sources as well as selected primary collections. The link to accessing digital collections from all over provides access to many primary sources.
WWW Virtual Library of Women’s History:
Comprehensive site with many links to Women’s history resources. Nice international links.
American Women Through Time:
This is a resource compiled by a librarian from MTSU. Nice resource broken down by time periods (beginnings, 19th century, 20th century). Helpful links to notable women.
Jewish Women’s Archive:
From the site: “The mission of the Jewish Women's Archive (JWA) is to uncover, chronicle, and transmit to a broad public the rich history of American Jewish women… JWA.org has an online Encyclopedia of Jewish women, online exhibits, several book and film guides and other resources on the experiences of American Jewish women."
Discovering American Women's History Online
Another one of Ken Middleton's projects, this database "provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaties, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. Collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century."
American Association of University Women:
Their research link provides access to reports about women in education. From their site: “AAUW conducts groundbreaking research that draws national attention to issues of gender equity in education and the workplace…Recent reports address topics such as the pay gap between men and women, economic security of older women, sexual harassment on college campuses, and gender equity in science and engineering education.”
Women’s Studies Resources from the University of Maryland Baltimore Campus:
From the site: “Women's Studies Online Resources will help you find information-rich, high-quality web sites focusing on Women's studies or Women's issues; women- or gender-related e-mail lists; Women's studies files from the WMST-L File Collection; links to Women's studies programs around the world and to the Center for Women and Information Technology; financial aid for women; updates to Internet Resources on Women; and more.”
WSSLinks: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites:
From the Association of College & Research Libraries from the ALA, WSSLinks is a collection of links to resources in support of Women’s Studies.
Includes links to Academic Programs, Activism, Gender and Sexuality, Health, History, Theory and Workplace information.
National Archives Library and Information Center – Women:
This website contains links to bibliographies, information on African-American women, biographies, politics and women, Women’s Suffrage, women in the military and other resources.
National Organization of Women:
NOW is the largest feminist advocacy group in the United States.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention – Women’s Health Page
Comprehensive site covering Women’s health issues.